Pooped in Paris

2 Dec

Pooped in Paris Photo by Jennifer Flueckiger

I’ve not been here around lately. Some of you may have even noticed.

I’ve been feeling a bit like my friend in the picture up there. I‘ve been feeling pooped in Paris.

This city is wonderfully inspiring. It allows many people to reinvent themselves and do things they did not feel able to do before they arrived. I am part of this group and I am a different person for living here.

However, in the excitement of my Parisian life I forgot for a moment that I am still me and that my body is still mine.

Some of you know this, but a little over 10 years ago I started to feel terrible.  I eventually had to quit my job and most normal activities, and was diagnosed with Chronic Fatigue Syndrome.  I worked very hard at getting better and 4 years ago this week I was able to resume work and two years ago to start to coach soccer/football. 

Coming to Paris has been a treat for me. I feel like it is a little reward for the several years I was in bed. I know it’s cliché but we only live once and I understand that what you have today can be taken away tomorrow. I want to make the most of my luck and opportunities.

I have done that. However, I have to understand that upon entry to the magical island that is Paris, no one is handed a “Super-suit” that makes them impervious to fatigue and illness. I have to understand that, like the several years before coming here, I will have days–and sometimes weeks–where I have to lie low for a while. I have to remember that getting upset about the fact that I am not feeling my best doesn’t do any good. I have to understand that if I take care of myself, I will have good and great days again.

I have a lot of fun writing these posts. If I am absent for a little while it is because I am taking care of myself so I can share more of my Parisian adventures. I am looking forward to it!

6 Responses to “Pooped in Paris”

  1. Sarah December 2, 2011 at 1:12 pm #

    Take care! S xx

    • Lulu December 2, 2011 at 11:54 pm #

      Amen sister!

  2. Paris Karin (an alien parisienne) December 2, 2011 at 3:10 pm #

    I. Hear. You.

    I empathize with this completely. There’s something about feeling just a *little bit better* that makes me want to go out and do WAY too much sometimes, and then I can feel that drag, that pull, that says: “You need to take care of yourself first.” Paris seems to be especially tempting in all it has to offer in terms of people to see, things to do, and places to go, and hyperextending has been an issue for me, too.

    I don’t know what it has been about this past couple of months, but I feel kind of the same — that I can’t take what energy I feel for granted, and I need to heed what my body says. Maybe it is the stresses and strains of winter’s arrival on the immune system? Sometimes I think that is part of it.

    Best to you in listening to your body and knowing what you can and can’t do, and if you need a listening ear (or ever any help!) you know where you can find me. I get this, and I know that sometimes it is nice to have someone around who empathizes. So if you ever want some company, just for a cup of tea, and not even going out and doing anything, let me know!

  3. Valerie Smith December 2, 2011 at 5:44 pm #

    Hi Jen

    So sorry to hear this – good health can indeed be very nebulous and fleeting at times, and you are quite right to grab every opportunity when it comes along. Sending you lots of positive vibes for the return good health. Look after yourself and lie low as long as you need to – we are into hibernation season anyway!. Valerie xx

  4. Dawn December 3, 2011 at 6:39 pm #

    Looking forward to it too! If you’re going to feel pooped anywhere it might as well be Paris – still sounds more romantic than ‘Pooped in Edinburgh’ Dawn x

  5. mariabitarello December 6, 2011 at 1:31 pm #

    Be well, Jennifer… we’ll be waiting your triumphant return!
    Please take good care of yourself. :-)
    Much love,
    Maria

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 59 other followers